Sunday, March 1, 2020

14 Years On - €42,500

When we started the competition back in 2006 we had only a handful of players bu over the past 14 years we have grown in numbers and this year, 112 players took part.

Since 2006 The Cyril Stringer Snooker Cup competition has raised over €42,500 for charity partners.

Thank you for your generosity and until next year - keep potting !

Keith & Gerry

Cyril Stringer Snooker Cup 2020 - The Final

 This year we marked 14 years of the tournament and the final was staged at Leabeg on Friday 28th February. Our 4 qualifying pairs, Shay Cullen & Declan Sillery, Brian Quigley & James O'Sullivan, William and Victor Bennett and Eamon Murphy & Simon Reynolds played off in round robin style. In match 1 Shay Cullen quickly set the tone with a fine 31 break to set up victory over Brian and James. After a tense final frame shoot out against Eamon and Simon,  Shay and Declan emerged victorious.

Declan and Shay were presented with the Cyril Stringer Snooker Cup and winners plaques while Eamon and Simon received runners-up plaques.


Our charity partners for 2020 are Greystones Cancer Support and The Alzheimer's Society of Ireland (ASI Wicklow Services) and representatives of each were in attendance on the night.

Due to your outstanding generosity we raised a total of €3,750 this year and a cheque for €1,875 was presented to each charity.

Thank you so much.

Here are some moments from our final:

Keith Stringer and Lawrence Collins of ASI Wicklow

Keith and Josephine Stringer

Brian Quigley and James O'Sullivan

James O'Sullivan, Brian Quigley, Simon Reynolds and Eamon Murphy

Former Cup winners John Stephenson and John Condell

Winners 2020 Declan and Shay with Angus Stringer

Wednesday, February 26, 2020

The Final Line Up is complete

The final pair of second phase round robins were held over Monday 24th and Tuesday 25th February.
On Monday 24th at The Rookery our father and son pair, William and Victor Bennett won out in a tight finish. Incidentally, William will be retiring from his ministry as Rector of the parish this coming weekend. We wish him well.

On Tuesday 25th again at The Rookery, Eamon Murphy and Simon Reynolds won out after a good night of snooker. Particular mention must go to debutants Daire and Cian Fenelon who gave a good account of themselves.

Big thank you to Michael Carey for the use of the hall on the night.

Best of luck to William, Victor, Simon and Eamon who will play in Friday night's final in Leabeg. We will start at 8pm with the Cyril Stringer Snooker Cup and plaques for the winners plus plaques for the runners up. We will also present all charity funds raised from the tournament, split equally, to our charity partners Greystones Cancer Support and Wicklow Alzheimer's Support.

All are welcome.

Eamon Murphy and Simon Reynolds

Williams and Victor Bennett at The Rookery

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Second Phase Update

The first two of our second phase round robins are now complete and both were staged at Ballyloughlin.

On Monday 17th Feb Tommy Waldron & Eamon Jackson, Declan Sillery & Shay Cullen and Gerry Reynolds & Josh Reynolds (sub for Billy Byrne) played off and Shay and Declan won out on the night.

On Tuesday 18th Feb Keith Stringer & Barry Doyle, Brian Quigley & James O'Sullivan and last year's winners, Noel Golden & David Dunne played off. After a tense final frame shoot out, Brian and James won out.

So Declan Sillery & Shay Cullen and Brian Quigley & James O'Sullivan are the first 2 of our 4 pairs for the final on 28th Feb at Leabeg.

Congrats to both and best of luck.

The remaining second phase round robins will be staged over 24th and 25th Feb at The Rookery.

Declan Sillery and Shay Cullen at Ballyloughlin

Brian Quigley and James O'Sullivan at Ballyloughlin

Monday, February 17, 2020

Final pair for second phase

We have our final pair for the second phase. Group 15 finished up at Leabeg with Eamonn Jackson and Tommy Waldron coming out on top.

Tommy and Eamonn will play tonight in the first of the four second phase "round robins".

Best of luck both.

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Two more pairs for the second round

Another 2 pairs have been added to the second phase. From Group 11 we have 2 Fenelon, Daire and Cian and from Group 12 it's Mark Ivanoff and Jonathan Sharpe.

Just Group 15 left to go.

Best of luck all.

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Second Round Draw

The second round will consist of 4 "round robin" groups played over 4 nights, 17th and 18th Feb, 24th and 25th Feb. Venues will be The Rookery and Ballyloughlin.

As we have 14 groups this year, we will have 14 pairs in the second round. These will be played off as two groups of three pairs and two groups of four pairs. The winning pair on each night will progress to the final which will be held on Friday 28th Feb at Leabeg.

Vincent Wilson drew the numbers for the Groups.

The line-up is:

Monday 17th Feb - Ballyloughlin - 8pm start

Group 17.   Shay Cullen & Declan Sillery
Group 2.     Billy Byrne & Gerry Reynolds
Group 15.   Tommy Waldron's group to complete.

Tuesday 18th Feb - Ballyloughlin - 8pm start

Group 1.    Barry Doyle & Keith Stringer
Group 9.    Brian Quigley & James O'Sullivan
Group 16.  Noel Golden & Dave Dunne

Monday 24th Feb - The Rookery - 8pm start

Group 6.    Angus Stringer & Andrew Flood
Group 8.    William Bennett & Victor Bennett
Group 10.  Conor Martin & Finn Ryan
Group 13.  Michael Carey & Ger Sinnott

Tuesday 25th Feb - The Rookery - 8pm start

Group 11    Frank Fenelon to complete
Group 4.     Eamon Murphy & Jordan Reynolds
Group 12.   Vincent Wilson to complete
Group 14.   Adrian Doyle & Ronan Molloy